Anika van den Berg and Emilee McLearn show off thier Canskate Champion ribbons.

Anika van den Berg and Emilee McLearn show off thier Canskate Champion ribbons.

Figure Skaters earn awards for hard work

The Houston Figure Skating Club acknowledges all the great skaters in their club and congratulates the award winners.

The Houston Figure Skating Club held their annual awards night, we would like to acknowledge all the great skaters in our club and congratulate our award winners.

Canskate awards:

Canskater of the year- Rachel Geary

Canskate Champions- Anika Vandenberg & Emilee McLearn


Most improved:

Canskate- Jordyn Brent

Prestar- Brooke Gillies

Junior- Hannah Ells & Michael Taylor

Senior- Miranda Rodway


Most competitive:

Senior- Katie Ball


Most sportsmanlike:

Prestar- Ryleigh Harmati

Junior- Chloey Hamer

Senior- Jessica Ells


Most dedicated:

Prestar- Kaydence Kaszas

Junior- Hailey Kettle

Senior- Maggie Kenzle


Most determined:

Canskate- Rebekah Verbeek

Prestar- Emma Larson & Katrina Goertzen

Junior- Hannah Bhatti

Senior- McKenzie Chudyk


Most artistic:

Prestar- Paige McEwen & Kaydence Kaszas

Junior- Savannah Sommerfeld

Senior- Delainey Larocque


Most badges passed:

Canskate- Jordyn Brent


Most tests passed:

Senior- Jessica Ells


Tiffany Manahan Memorial Award:

Junior- Hailey Kettle


Skater of the year:

Senior- McKenzie Chudyk


Graduating Skater: Kelsey McEwen


Thanks goes out to all the wonderful parents who contribute their time to make our fundraisers run smoothly.

Thank you goes out to the executive for their hard work all season.

Thank you to our coaches Adam Ells and Kelsey McEwen, you did an amazing job.   We as executive, parents and skaters are very proud of you!  We are very happy to announce that Kelsey will be returning to coach next season!!  We would like to wish Adam all the best.

Just Posted

Jill Mackenzie carefully replaces books on the shelves at the Houston Public Library. (Angelique Houlihan photo)
District approves annual library grant

Craft kits featured for summer reading club

The tradition of Houston Christian School grads giving Bibles to incoming kindergarten students will take place this year, but outdoors and in a modified fashion. (File photo)
Houston Christian School grad day is June 24

Grads themselves have set tone for the day, says teacher

Scott Richmond will be starting as the new vice principal for HSS and TSE. (Submitted/Houston Today)
Houston gets a new vice principal

Scott Richmond takes over from Dwayne Anderson who moved to Smithers

A Pacific Salmon Foundation grant of $3,000 is going towards the tree plantations. (Cindy Verbeek photo/Houston Today)
550 trees planted in Houston through A Rocha

Houston Christian School students and volunteers help with the tree planting

Currently the Houston station has 16 paramedics, two ambulances and one community paramedic vehicle. (File photo)
Retirement of longtime paramedics worries Houston community

“No loss of service,” assures BC Emergency Health Services

People line up to get their COVID-19 vaccine at a vaccination centre, Thursday, June 10, 2021 in Montreal. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Ryan Remiorz
Vaccines, low COVID case counts increase Father’s Day hope, but risk is still there

Expert says people will have to do their own risk calculus before popping in on Papa

FILE – A science class at L.A. Matheson Secondary in Surrey, B.C. on March 12, 2021. (Lauren Collins/Surrey Now Leader)
Teachers’ union wants more COVID transmission data as B.C. prepares for back-to-school

BCTF says that details will be important as province works on plan for September

Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry outlines B.C.’s COVID-19 restart plan, May 25, 2021, including larger gatherings and a possible easing of mandatory masks on July 1. (B.C. government photo)
B.C. records 120 new COVID-19 cases, second vaccines accelerating

Lower Pfizer deliveries for early July, Moderna shipments up

A Heffley Creek peacock caught not one - but two - lifts on a logging truck this month. (Photo submitted)
Heffley Creek-area peacock hops logging trucks in search of love

Peacock hitched two lifts in the past month

The Calgary skyline is seen on Friday, Sept. 15, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jeff McIntosh
2 deaths from COVID-19 Delta variant in Alberta, 1 patient was fully immunized

Kerry Williamson with Alberta Health Services says the patients likely acquired the virus in the hospital

The first suspension bridge is the tallest in Canada, with a second suspension bridge just below it. The two are connected by a trail that’s just over 1 km. (Claire Palmer photo)
PHOTOS: The highest suspension bridges in Canada just opened in B.C.

The Skybridge in Golden allows visitors to take in views standing at 130 and 80 metres

BC Green Party leader and Cowichan Valley MLA Sonia Furstenau introduced a petition to the provincial legislature on Thursday calling for the end of old-growth logging in the province. (File photo)
BC Green leader Furstenau introduces old-growth logging petition

Party calls for the end of old-growth logging as protests in Fairy Creek continue

B.C. Premier John Horgan leaves his office for a news conference in the legislature rose garden, June 3, 2020. (B.C. government photo)
B.C. premier roasted for office budget, taxing COVID-19 benefits

Youth addiction law that triggered election hasn’t appeared

A vial containing the Moderna COVID-19 vaccine is shown at a vaccination site in Marcq en Baroeul, outside Lille, northern France, Saturday, March 20, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/AP/Michel Spingler
mRNA vaccines ‘preferred’ for all Canadians, including as 2nd dose after AstraZeneca: NACI

New recommendations prioritizes Pfizer, Moderna in almost all cases

Most Read