Rural Advisory Council members reappointed by minister Steve Thomson

Members of the Province's Rural Advisory Council were reappointed for another two-year term

  • Apr. 6, 2016 8:00 p.m.

Members of the Province’s Rural Advisory Council were reappointed for another two-year term by Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations Minister Steve Thomson Thursday.

The mandate of the council is to provide input to government policy decisions to best support thriving rural communities, while keeping in mind government’s need to control spending and ensure an overall balanced budget for the province.

“I want to thank the members of the Rural Advisory Council for their commitment and dedication to helping the province support rural communities to thrive and prosper and for providing a strong voice for rural British Columbians,” said MLA Donna Barnett who chairs the council.

The 12 appointed council members include elected officials and representatives from First Nations and economic development organizations from small rural communities throughout B.C., including Tom Hoffman of WIlliams Lake.

Hoffman is a registered professional forester and a board member of Community Futures Cariboo-Chilcotin and the Northern Development Initiative Trust.

The other members are Debra Arnott of Cache Creek, Susan Clovechok of Farimont Hot Springs, Geri Collins of Kamloops, Bill Holmberg of Houston, Chief Roy Jones Jr. of Skidegate, Sue Kenny of Dawson Creek, Jonathan Lok of Port McNeill, Grace McGregor of Christina Lake, Chris Pieper of Armstrong, Sylvia Pranger of Agassiz, Gerry Thiessen of Vanderhoof, and Eric (Rick) Thompson from McBride.

The council provides advice on rural economic development, including rural access to capital and business development support for rural entrepreneurs and businesses. The council also advises on rural community capacity building, including the Rural Dividend.

The council is chaired by Barnett and meets on a quarterly basis.


Just Posted

U.S. consulate general to visit Northwest

Trip part of the region’s first-ever pop-up consul for American residents

Houston Flyers bring home bronze

The Houston Flyers peewees were off to Smithers last weekend and came… Continue reading

New Cottonwood Manor units nearly ready

Sixteen units replace ones condemned several years ago

Houston celebrates International Womens Day

International Women’s Day March 7 was celebrated by 102 registered guests who… Continue reading

Houston’s woman of the year

International Woman of the year event was held last Thursday in Houston.… Continue reading

Ottawa proposes restricted pot labels, packages

Packaging will include red stop sign with marijuana leaf and ‘THC’

How to keep local news visible in your Facebook feed

Facebook has changed the news feed to emphasize personal connections. You might see less news.

Pro-Trump protest sign with F-word is OK, court rules

Judges say Ontario man can protest publicly, even using vulgar language

VIDEO: Police officer looking for distracted drivers gets hit by truck

Road safety investigator clipped by trailer while patrolling busy intersection

YVR wants you to help name three new puppies

Say hello to the Vancouver Airport’s new assistance pups

Suspect who attacked autistic man in Ontario could be from B.C.’s south coast: police

29-year-old man was sent to hospital with serious injuries

Privacy watchdog to explore Facebook leak

Canadian expert says his analytics company helped Trump campaign capitalize on private Facebook info

Woman struck and killed by self-driving Uber vehicle

Ride-hailing company suspends all road-testing of such vehicles in U.S. and Canada

Spring snow melt uncovers dirty needles in B.C. city

Vernon residents are upset with number of needles being found around town with spring melt

Most Read